Skip to content

Q and A with Ann Stoker

October 6, 2011

New Q and A with atist Ann Stoker!

Bio. Tell me about yourself, your inspiration and the medium you work in 

My chosen mode of expression is the language of drawing. I am fascinated by the expressive nature of line and mark and endeavour to explore different ways of working in an attempt to push boundaries. I have developed an individual way of working, inspired by traditional methods, that requires the initial drawing to be cut into the paper surface with a sharp blade. This method contains an element of surprise and unpredictability, and often results in the unexpected.

My recent drawings, exhibited in Sam Scorer Gallery and in Harding House Gallery, are anchored by the theme of ‘modern woman’. Through these drawings I explore the notion of femininity and how it is expressed both culturally and through the nature of the individual; how women assert their femininity within various cultures and what it means to be both ‘modern’ and female in our global society. The role of women in the modern world is a subject that I find fascinating and intriguing. 

What is your favourite size to work in?

I have worked in a variety of sizes. It depends on the nature of the work and the medium that I’m using, although I prefer and am more inclined, to work on a larger scale. 

How did you get started on your path as an artist?

 I can’t ever remember not making art. It has always seemed the natural thing to do. I was fortunate to be born into a creative family who between them had many talents and skills and encouraged me to explore the creative world of not only the visual arts but also of dance and music. 

What or who have influenced you and your work?

 I am very grateful to have had some inspirational teachers over the years who still continue to influence my work even now. They helped me to find my own strengths and ‘run my own race’. I believe these things to be essential for an artist to realise, in order to establish a clear identity.  

Ann is currently exhibting at the Harding House Gallery in ‘ The Drawing Room’ exhibition. To find out out more about this exhibition visit www.hardinghousegallery.co.uk. To find out more about the artist visit www.annstoker.co.uk

Man thanks to Ann for being part of the blog! And to the reader, hope you enjoyed!

No comments yet

Leave a comment