Skip to content

Q and A with Amy Logan

October 28, 2011

Jeweller and designer, Amy Logan talks to Lincoln Art Scene.

I’m a recent graduate in Metal work and jewellery from Sheffield Hallam. Currently artist in residence in Bilston Gallery.  I like to work in materials that are unexpected and also inspiration that is unexpected- people have a very specific idea of what  jewellery should be and what is appropriate which I find very interesting.

I loved art at school but took academic subjects at 6th form and really missed being creative! So I went and did an Art foundation which was a fantastic year of experimentation in Media and great people.

I find inspiration everywhere really. I like to look at discarded or everyday items which others have overlooked or perhaps find a little unappealing. For example my work has in quite prominent use glue/ Caulk (bathroom sealant) and tights. I find people’s reactions interesting when they discover this, as its not too obvious and its really not something they expect.

 


Experimentation really influenced my work and Lisa Walker- the jeweller- I suppose had already paved the way for the type of inspiration that really appealed to me.

In Vitro gallery has such a lovely original take in the work it shows and its fantastic how it supports young artists wanting to put their work out into the world. Big thanks to Laura!Amy is currently exhibiting in InVitro Gallery! To find out more about her and her work visit www.amylogan.co.uk!

Thanks for a great Q and A from Amy and to the readers, hope you enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2011 3:50 am

    Hi there, I found your website via Google while searching for a related topic, your website came up, it looks good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

  2. November 18, 2011 2:09 pm

    I just wanted to compose a message to say thanks to you for those remarkable tips and tricks you are sharing at this site. My time-consuming internet lookup has finally been recognized with pleasant strategies to go over with my neighbours. I ‘d repeat that many of us website visitors are truly endowed to live in a fabulous network with many wonderful individuals with helpful secrets. I feel rather happy to have used your site and look forward to really more amazing minutes reading here. Thanks once more for a lot of things.

Leave a comment