Skip to content

Q and A with Joshua Lockwood

June 14, 2013

Joshua Lockwood, currently exhibiting at the Sam Scorer Gallery, answered some questions for Lincoln Art Scene.

Installation image 1

Tell me about yourself and the medium you work in.

I studied at Norwich University College of the Arts, graduating in 2012 and currently based in Lincoln. Traditionally when moving through art school you are directed down the path of painting, print or sculpture; at Norwich this was not the case, it was encouraged to experiment and learn different ways of making. Like many practitioners, I do not see myself confined to one medium; I think the artist must be adaptable due to the quick paced nature that we live in today. For example my current exhibition I have used film, barrier tape, wood, photography, pencil, mod-roc, spray paint, chads, biros, file dividers to create a range of works.

How did you get started on your path as an artist?

I am not sure if this had a particular point were I decided I am going to be an artist or how. I think I have an interest within art whether that is viewing art or making works (though it has not always been the case). I think there are possibilities that I see things differently to others that things have a possible potential.

What or who have influenced you and your work?

I think my work is influenced by events and experiences that have accumulated over my current lifespan. These events or encounters make me think or act differently when encountering similar situations.

What is your favorite size to work in?

I am not sure if I have a favorite size to work with – I think it depends on the material I am using and the space in which I am displaying the work.

Do you have any particular themes you explore in your work and what is your favorite?

Within my work I am interested in many things – whether these are all shown in my work I am not sure. I think everything contributes to the overall outcome – which may not be crucial to the understanding of the work or exhibition, but neither are the irrelevant. Repetitive processes are a way of making work and is one thing that always seems to be present.

You are currently exhibiting in the Sam Scorer Gallery, Why did you decide to exhibit there and why did you choose the particular pieces to exhibit?

The work that I have presented for my current show is work that I have made during the last few months that I have been back in Lincoln. By having an exhibition gave me an aim to work towards and gave a demand to continue with my practice. Within the exhibition I have presented a number of different office based mass produced materials. Predominately using items formally used for recording and documenting, they comprise of physical material that underpins our forms of communication. Small interventions scramble the logic of the everyday object; changing their regularity to form new utilities from alternative rhythms.

Lincoln Art Scene thanks Joshua for a great Q and A! Make sure to visit the last few days of his exhibition ‘Presented Objects’! His next exhibition is Re-Presented, a joint exhibition with artist Jennifer Gleadell. A contemporary interpretation of traditional views of Lincoln. To be held at The Collection, Lincoln on
6th of July – 3rd August

To find out more, visit Joshua’s website, http://www.joshualockwood.co.uk!

No comments yet

Leave a comment