Skip to content

Q and A with Sharon Richards

September 12, 2011

Cerminc artist, Sharon Richards currently exhibiting in the ‘Class of 2011’ at the Hub in Sleaford kindly answered some questions Lincoln Art Scene! Enjoy!

Bio

I have recently graduated from Cardiff School of Art and Design having completed the BA Ceramics (Hons) course.  As a mature student (now 38) I feel very privileged to have been a part of the fabulous programme of study they have at Cardiff. 

I now work with Earthenware clay slip, using hand formed and found objects to produce the plaster moulds I use. I cast the forms and these are then assembled in various ways, also using plastic clay to enhance some of the forms further.  I high bisque these then use porcelain vitreous slip and commercial stains sprayed on in various layers to obtain the desired result, I sometimes hand paint the glaze if the forms are small.  The pieces are then fired again slightly higher to achieve the bright colours I want.

How did you get started on your path as an artist?

I have worked within the art and craft field for many years.  I’ve always had a keen interest in making and a hands on approach to what I do. I was first introduced to ceramics when my son was born (nearly 19 years ago) I joined a pottery course at my local Learning Education Centre.  As the years went by I tried to incorporate this within my work as a youth/play worker. Eventually I was invited to teach at the centre as a pottery tutor and spent ten years enlisting others into the joys of clay.  Eventually I completed an art and design foundation course and then in 2008 applied to Cardiff School of Ceramics.  I will be continuing my studies there in October having enrolled onto the MA Ceramics  course.

What is your inspiration?

Nature, environment the galaxy – mainly plants and how they develop from a seed into a glorious plant. We have an allotment and I’m a self confessed allotment bore, there is a wealth of inspiration to be had watching vegetables and flowers grow, from the seed itself, the texture, form and colour, to the structure of the developing plant.

What or who have influenced you and your work?

Wolfgang Stuppy, Rob Kesseler, Madeline Harley and Alexandra Papadakis, most of the images that have been created within their books, I came upon these images a few years ago and this year have used them as a starting point for some of my research, it inspired me to buy a digital microscope, nothing is safe from my enquiring gaze.   Ceramic artist Francis Doherty has been an influence too; she concentrates on the forms of seed pods and fruiting bodies, and creates some amazing pieces.  Louise Hibbert and Sarah Parker-Eaton create highly finished wood and silver and gold forms inspired by plankton and pattern and forms within nature.

 What is your favourite size to work in?

My work ranges in size from 15cm to 60-70cm height or width, I am comfortable with these sizes but have not ruled out making bigger pieces yet, but this does tend to make the process alot more awkward.

Can you tell me about your work in the ‘Class of 2011’ exhibition at The Hub in Sleaford, why you chose the particular works and why you exhibited there?

They are part of a body of work I developed for my graduate show, all forms are based on the research I had undertaken looking into the world of plants and nature in general and developing the forms to have an otherworldly feel about them.

I was delighted to be asked to exhibit at The Hub after I had exhibited at New Designers in London.

Many thanks to Sharon for a great Q and A! Make sure to visit the Hub in Sleaford to see Sharon’s work in the ‘Class of 2011′ exhibition showing until 18.09.11!

No comments yet

Leave a comment